WhatsApp groups are one of the most popular ways to connect with people from your phone’s contact list. However, in order to join a WhatsApp group, you need to be added by another member of the group who has admin privileges.
But what happens when you want to prevent someone from adding you to his or her group? For example, if you’re not sure about this person, don’t know him or her well enough or just don’t want to join that particular WhatsApp group?
What Are WhatsApp Groups?
WhatsApp is a popular mobile messaging app that provides group chats and allows you to share videos, pictures, audio recordings, and other files? WhatsApp groups can be created with up to 500 people in them.
If someone is adding you as a member without your knowledge or consent, it is possible to remove yourself from the group chat. There are two ways to do this- one way is by sending the message ‘leave’ via WhatsApp.
The other way is by going into your settings on WhatsApp and editing which chats are active. Go to privacy settings and then click on edit WhatsApp contact list.
From there select the contacts tab. Clicking it will give you a list of all your contacts who have whatsapp installed on their device including those that have added you to the group chat without your knowledge.
Here you will be able to find out what contact added you, if they added others, and if they blocked anyone else.
How Do I Know If Someone Added Me On WhatsApp Group?
It’s hard not to see the group chat invitations that are constantly coming through on your phone. But have you ever wondered how you’ll know if someone has added you on a group chat?
It’s as easy as looking at your contact list: just make sure the person isn’t already in your contacts, and instead, they show up under WhatsApp Groups. If they don’t show up anywhere, then they’ve probably added you.
And even though it may be rude for them to do this without letting you know, it’s also very difficult for them to add people without letting anyone else in the group know first.
Thankfully, it is possible to prevent them from adding you in future by blocking their number. However, blocking a number does not mean the user will no longer be able to send you messages or calls-it just means that they can no longer add you to groups.
Once blocked, WhatsApp will allow users to stay in existing groups but will block them from being able to send invites out or change any settings.
Should I Remove People Who Add Me On WhatsApp Groups?
If you’re an introvert, then adding people on your WhatsApp group can be quite a nuisance. It’s not that you don’t want to spend time with them but you just prefer one-on-one interactions.
However, if the person is someone who has been close to you for a long time and you trust him or her completely, it would be okay. But if they’re just someone who wants some attention, then it’s best not to add them.
Add someone on WhatsApp group only if you know that he/she will not spam you.
How To Prevent Someone From Adding You To WhatsApp Group
- Open your WhatsApp and go to the group you want to stop someone from adding you to.
- From here, tap on the 3 vertical dots in the upper right corner.
- Tap Leave this Group at the bottom of the menu that pops up and confirm your decision when it asks if you’re sure. Your request will be sent out to all the other members of the group.
After a member approves it, they’ll leave and you’ll be removed as well. If a member rejects the request, then you’ll stay in the group. If no one has responded after 24 hours then it’s automatically approved for you.
Note: The only person who can remove you from the group is whoever invited you to join in the first place! To do this, open the chat where you were invited to the group and click on the three vertical dots again. Then select Leave Group.
The best way to prevent someone from adding you is by not accepting the invitation. If you do not want to be added, then ignore the request and do not add them back.
Prevent Someone from Adding You to the WhatsApp Group
If you’re like most people, then you probably have too many WhatsApp groups that you’ve been added to without your consent. This article will show you how to prevent someone from adding you to their WhatsApp group, so that you don’t have to see their messages or pictures again. You can also get them kicked out of the group if they did it in the first place.
How To leave a WhatsApp Group And Not be Added Again
If you have been added to a WhatsApp group that you don’t want to be a part of, there are two ways in which you can leave.
The first is simply by leaving the group, and all messages will be deleted. The second way involves blocking the person who added you in order to prevent them from adding you again in the future.
To do this, go to your profile and scroll down to Blocked People. Find the name of the person who added you, tap on it then select Block Contact.
To confirm this action press OK on the dialogue box asking if you’re sure about blocking contact with that person. After doing so, you should no longer be able to see the WhatsApp group on your mobile phone.
If you decide you would like to rejoin the WhatsApp group at a later date, go back into your profile and unblock contact with the person who added you before messaging him or her. It is advisable to use caution when choosing whether to remove yourself from a WhatsApp group.
Removing yourself may seem like the easy option but some groups are created for specific purposes, such as business networks, and having an account outside of those groups could affect its efficiency.
WhatsApp Permission To Add To Group
If you don’t want someone else to add you to a group chat, there are two ways you can stop them. One way is by blocking them on WhatsApp. If you block someone, they won’t be able to send messages or call you.
The other way is by reporting the person for abuse. If enough people report this person, they’ll be removed and unable to contact anyone in that group chat again.
However, if you decide to unblock the person in the future, you’ll have to manually remove yourself from the group chat first. Keep reading below for more information about how to do both of these things!
- Block someone – Go to Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked Contacts. Find the person’s name you want to block and tap it.
- 2) Report abuse – Go to Settings > Account > Privacy > Report Abuse.
How To Stop Someone Adding Me in WhatsApp Group iPhone
There is a way that you can stop someone from adding you to their group chat on WhatsApp. If you get an invitation and you don’t want to be added, tap on Leave this Group at the bottom of the notification.
If it’s a onetime request, simply swipe left on the notification. However, if they are constantly trying to add you repeatedly, go into your phone’s settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked Contacts. Tap Add New… then type in their name or contact number and finally press Save (if they are not saved already).
Now when they try to add you again, they will see that they have been blocked by your account and cannot invite you to the group chat any longer. I hope these tips helped with preventing people from adding you in WhatsApp groups!